International Embedded Systems Symposium 2007 - Call for Papers

Just before the Int. Conference on Microelectronic Systems Education (MSE) in San Diego, June 3-4 2007
and the Design Automation Conference (DAC) in San Diego, June 4-8 2007.

Conference Theme:

Over recent years, embedded systems have gained an enormous amount of processing power and functionality. Many of the formerly external components can now be integrated into a single System-on-Chip. This tendency has resulted in a dramatic reduction in the size and cost of embedded systems. As a unique technology, the design of embedded systems is an essential element of many innovations.
Embedded systems meet their performance goals, including real-time constraints, through a combination of special-purpose hardware and software components tailored to the system requirements. Both the development of new features and the reuse of existing intellectual property components are essential to keeping up with ever demanding customer requirements. Furthermore, design complexities are steadily growing with an increasing number of components that have to cooperate properly. Embedded system designers have to cope with multiple goals and constraints simultaneously, including timing, power, reliability, dependability, maintenance, packaging and, last but not least, price. The significance of these constraints varies depending on the application area a system is targeted for. Typical embedded applications include multi-media, automotive, medical, and communication devices.

The goals of the International Embedded Systems Symposium are to present exchange and discuss the state of the art, novel ideas, actual research results, and future trends in the field of embedded systems. Contributors and participants from both industry and academia are encouraged to take active part in this symposium.

Topics: Topics include, but are not restricted to the following:

Important Dates:

December 20, 2006 January 5, 2007
Submissions due
January 20, 2006 February 14, 2007
Notification of acceptance
February 20, 2007 February 28, 2007 Final papers

Important Dates for Tutorial Submission:

A tutorial submission should consist of a title and an abstract (0,5 to 1 page) including names and affiliation.
Please send your tutorial proposal to:

December 15, 2006 December 30, 2006
Submissions due
December 20, 2006 January 5, 2007
Notification of acceptance

Final Paper Submission:

Please submit your final paper sources to:

Organizing Committee:

General Chairs Achim Rettberg
University Paderborn
Fuerstenallee 11
D-33094 Paderborn
Phone: +49 (5251) 60-6110
Fax: +49 (5251) 60-6066
Mauro C. Zanella
ZF Lemförder GmbH
Postfach 12 20
D-49441 Lemförde
Phone: +49 (5474) 60-4655
Fax: +49 (5474) 90-4855
General Co-Chair Franz J. Rammig
University Paderborn
Fuerstenallee 11
D-33094 Paderborn
Phone: +49 (5251) 60-6500
Fax: +49 (5251) 60-6502
Program Chair Rainer Doemer
University of California, Irvine
444C Engineering Tower
Irvine, CA 92697-2625
Phone: +1 (949) 824-9007
Fax: +1 (949) 824-3203
Local Arrangements Chair Andreas Gerstlauer
University of California, Irvine
5251 California Ave.
Irvine, CA 92697-2625
Phone: +1 (949) 824-4922
Fax: +1 (949) 824-4789

Program Committee:

Richard Anthony – The University of Greenwich, England
Samar Abdi – University of California at Irvine, USA
ürgen Becker  – University Karlsruhe, Germany
Brandon Blodget – Xilinx Research Labs, USA
Christophe Bobda – University Kaiserslautern, Germany
Rainer Doemer – University of California at Irvine, USA
Cecilia Ekelin – Volvo Technology Corporation, Sweden
Rolf Ernst – Technical University Braunschweig, Germany
Masahiro Fujita – University of Tokyo, Japan
Andreas Gerstlauer – University of California at Irvine, USA
Frank Hansen – Altera, Germany
Joerg Henkel – University Karlsruhe, Germany
Thomas Heurung – Mentor Graphics, Germany
Uwe Honekamp – Vector Informatik, Germany
Marcel Jackowski – USP, Brazil
Kane Kim – University of California at Irvine, USA
Bernd Kleinjohann – C-LAB, Germany
Thorsten Koelzow – Audi Electronics Venture, Germany
Hermann Kopetz – Technical University Vienna, Austria
Horst Krimmel – ZF Friedrichshafen, Germany
Jean-Claude Laprie – LAAS, France
Thomas Lehmann – Philips, Germany
Roger May – Altera, England
Mike Olivarez – Freescale Semiconductor, USA
Frank Oppenheimer – OFFIS, Germany
Carlos Pereira – UFRGS, Brazil
Franz Rammig – University Paderborn, Germany
Achim Rettberg – C-LAB, Germany
Carsten Rust – Sagem Orga, Germany
Stefan Schimpf – Robert Bosch Ltda., Brazil
Juergen Schirmer – Robert Bosch GmbH, Stuttgart, Germany
Aviral Shrivastava – Arizona State University, USA
Joachim Stroop – dSPACE, Germany
Hiroyuki Tomiyama – Nagoya University, Japan
Ansgar Traechtler – University Paderborn, Germany
Flavio R. Wagner – UFRGS, Brazil
Mauro Zanella – ZF Lemförder, Germany
Jianwen Zhu – University of Toronto, Canada


For registration information click here.

Location and Travel Information: 

The conference will be held in Irvine, CA (USA) at the Beckmann Center, May 29 - June 1 2007.

For detailed travel information click here.

Check if you need a VISA for USA. If you need an invitation letter for your VISA please contact us.


WG 10.5 - SIG-ES

ZF Lemförder Fahrwerktechnik
GmbH & Co. KG

University of Paderborn

Center for Embedded Compter Systems

Interested in sponsoring this event?

Please contact:

University of California, Irvine

EBV Elektronik GmbH & Co. KG

Altera Corporation

Interested in IESS?

Please contact:

Copyright: Last update: 25. May 2007